

19**80**S

GEOFFREY S. GALLINGER, '87 – was elected to a one-year term as president and member of the Board of Directors of the Detroit Athletic Club.

HON. ANNETTE J. BERRY, '88 – was invited by the Detroit office of the US Drug Enforcement Administration to be the keynote speaker at the Women's History Month Program.

ROBIN L. SCHMID, '89 – moved from Wasilla, Alaska, to Sitka, Alaska, in August 2018 and opened her own general practice law firm.

CARY MCGEHEE, '89 – was selected by *Michigan Lawyers Weekly* as one of its 2019 Leaders in the Law. She is a founding co-partner of Pitt McGehee Palmer & Rivers firm in Royal Oak.

19**90**S

ARTHUR RADFORD BAKER, JR., '93 – retired at the end of 2017 as a supervisory special agent of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) after serving for over 30 years. He currently serves as senior investigative counsel for the United States Senate, Committee on the Judiciary.

ELIZABETH J. ATKINSON, '93 – was named a 2019 Super Lawyer in Virginia, where she works for Whiteford, Taylor & Preston.

JACOB FEMMININEO, JR., '95 – was appointed by Governor Gretchen Whitmer to the 41B District Court.

LORNA T. BEARD, '96 – was promoted to assistant division director of the Legislative Service Bureau (LSB) Legal Division. She has worked at LSB Legal Division for over 21 years.

DAVID O. BATISTA, '97 – joined Shutts & Bowen LLP's Insurance practice group as partner in its Fort Lauderdale office.

DAN BOWSER, '99 – was promoted to national director of entertainment contracts at SAG-AFTRA, where he oversees the enforcement and administration of television, new media and theatrical contracts and establishes the strategic direction of the department.

20**00**S

MATTHEW S. FEDOR, '00 – was elected shareholder of Foster Swift Collins & Smith, P.C.

CAMERON R. MONTI, '01 – accepted a position with MDH Investment Group, an Illinois-based venture capital firm, as chief operating officer and general counsel.

JASON EVANS, '03 – serves as a judge advocate in the Michigan Army National Guard and was promoted to lieutenant colonel.

SHAUNA MURPHY, '03 – was appointed district court judge in Livingston County.

KATHERINE CATANESE, '04 – was elected to equity partner at Foley & Lardner. She was also voted "40 Under 40" Emerging Leaders in Insolvency Practice by the American Bankruptcy Institute.

TAMAR (SCHILLER) YELLILN, '05 – became the city co-lead for the new Omaha chapter of Bunker Labs, which helps support veteran, active duty, and military spouse entrepreneurship.

JULIA D. LOPER, '06 – accepted a position as an assistant attorney general in the Office of the Attorney General for the State of Illinois in October 2018.

KRISTIN BEALS BELLAR, '06 – has been named general counsel of the Municipal Employees' Retirement System of Michigan.

JOEL WRIGHT, '07 – was appointed chief legal affairs officer of Albany State University.

AARON J. BERESH, '08 – joined Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC in its Royal Oak office.

JOSHUA A. HUBER, '08 – was elected partner at Blank Rome LLP.

JENNIFER BUNKER SKERSTON, '09 – joined Reilly Law Office, LLC as partner. The firm's name became the Law Offices of Reilly & Skerston, LLC.

20**10**S

ANTHONY W. JESKO, '10 – was elected a shareholder at Dickie, McCamey & Chilcote, P.C. He is a member of the firm's Energy and Real Estate groups in the Pittsburgh office.

NATHAN SPORTEL, '10 – was promoted to partner at Husch Blackwell in Chicago and will serve as the firm's recruiting chair.

WESLEY TODD, '10 – was named to Super Lawyers 2019 Rising Stars for criminal law.

MELISSA FORSHEY SCHWIND, '11 – relocated to Raleigh, North Carolina, and started at Ward and Smith, P.A. as the new director of Attorney Recruiting, Diversity and Inclusion. **LUKE BEHNKE, '12** – celebrated his one year anniversary at Quarles & Brady, LLP, where he practices product liability defense.

NATALIE F. WEISS, '12 – joined the Office of General Counsel at Latham & Watkins LLP as global commercial transactions counsel.

SAMANTHA PATTWELL, '12 – was elected a member in Dickinson Wright's Lansing office.

MATTHEW SNIDER, '12 – was elected a member in Dickinson Wright's Ann Arbor office, where he focuses his practice on trademarks.

ANDREW T. MCCLAIN, '13 – was selected for inclusion in the Illinois Super Lawyers – Rising Stars list for 2019.

CHRISTOPHER CHAVIS, '15 – had an article accepted for publication in the *University of Maine Law Review*, titled "The Past, Present, and Future of Rural Northern New England: A Study of the Demographics Crisis and How it Affects the Rural Lawyer Shortage." He presented the article at Colby College in April as part of the University of Maine's Rural Law symposium.

JUSTIN BARRY, '15 – joined Cantor Colburn as an associate, working at the firm's office in Troy.

DAVID RADER, '16 – was selected to The Heritage Foundation's George C. Marshall National Security Fellowship, a year-long program for national security leaders to meet and speak with senior elected and government officials about national security law and policy.

TIMOTHY D. LEE, '16 – joined Howard & Howard Attorneys PLLC in its Royal Oak office.

EMILY A. JEFFERSON, '16 – was appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals for the City of Lansing, and elected to the Board of Directors for the Ingham County Bar Association. She was also presented with the Davis-Dunnings Bar Association President's Award in April 2019.

AMANDA J. DERNOVSHEK, '18 – was sworn in to Foster Swift Collins & Smith, P.C. at the Michigan Supreme Court in Lansing.

BRANDON M. H. SCHUMACHER, '18 – was sworn in to Foster Swift Collins & Smith, P.C. at the Michigan Supreme Court in Lansing.

LYDIA M. HYMEL, '18 – was sworn in to Foster Swift Collins & Smith, P.C. at the Michigan Supreme Court in Lansing.

IN MEMORIAM

Hon. Jack T. Arnold, '62

Mr. Kevin P. Benner, '85

Mr. Patrick J. Bruetsch, '77

Ms. Rebecca S. Even, '98

Ms. Jennifer E. Frost, '04

Mr. Richard A. Gallagher, Jr., '00

Mr. Kevin W. Geer, '80

Mr. Ernest O. Hornung, '70

Mr. William Lipton, '58

Mr. Timothy P. Moriarity, '84

Mr. William G. Sinn, Jr., '60

Ms. Gail E. Steinhauer, '80

Mr. Norman W. Stern, '49

Mr. Charles J. Taunt, '74

Ms. Janice C. Tice, '84

Mr. John C. Ugwoagonwu, '14

Mr. Herbert S. Weller, '55

Mr. Thomas J. Zebula, '74

Have news to share?
Submit career or personal news online at law.msu.edu/amicus/alumni-notes.php